When a chat is not used for more than 3 days, it gets deleted.
Chat messages are deleted after a maximum of 7 days, no matter if the chat is still active or not.
Custom Chats are deleted after 90 days of inactivity.
⚠ It is possible, chats or messages get deleted before the given periods.
To run a chat permanently using a custom name, you may create a custom chat.
Such custom chats are great for public chats, you can link to from your website, your facebook profile or from anywhere else.
No, there is no password protection. But you may lock (and unlock) your chat at any time, so that nobody can join anymore.